A Man in a Hat

Pleased to Meet You: Write a post in which the protagonists of two different books or movies meet for the first time. How do they react to each other? Do they get along?


Dear friend,

My cheeks are red from being outside but I’m not outside anymore and I’m not sure when I came in. I’m sitting in the corner of the room watching things move. Everything moves slow, so slow it disappears. I can’t keep track of them anymore. A man in a hat was sitting with me but then he wasn’t and now he is again. I don’t look at him just in case he’s not really there. I’m afraid he’s not really there.

“Are you Alice?”, the man in the hat asks. It’s funny that he would ask that because Alice is a girl’s name and I’m not a girl.

“No, I’m Charlie. You’re not real, the dragon outside wasn’t real either. Am I going mad?”

“We’re all mad here, Alice.”, the man in the hat says smiling. Then he disappears and I’m walking now but I don’t remember getting up. I remember not wanting to be in the house anymore with Sam and Craig and Patrick and Brad in the other rooms, and the walls were too thin so I left but it’s cold outside.

I wonder where the man in the hat went.

Love always,
Charlie

 


Characters are Charlie from the Perks of Being a Wallflower and the Mad Hatter from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Loosely based on the scene in the Perks of Being a Wallflower in which Charlie is given something that causes him to hallucinate.

 

8 thoughts on “A Man in a Hat

  1. I actually had an english assignment like this a couple of years ago. I wrote that Tris from Divergent met Nobody Owens from The Graveyard Book. It was such a fun and unique assigment, and I really loved your writing and character combination here!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

